• Open Days
  • How You Study
  • Apply
  • UA92 Business School
  • Health, Exercise and Sport
  • World of Digital
  • Sports Journalism

UA92 sports teams celebrate season successes at the Sport92 Awards Night



UA92 hosted their second annual Sport92 Awards night in April, as students and staff celebrated another successful sporting year.

The award ceremony took place in the 1864 suite at Emirates Old Trafford, home to UA92 industry partner Lancashire County Cricket Club.

Sports broadcaster and UA92 lecturer, Phil Jones, hosted the evening, with Yvonne Harrison, CEO of Women in Football, delivering a special talk to students on her career so far and the characteristics she had showcased.

The celebrations began as third year students were invited to the stage to receive a token of appreciation for their dedication to representing Sport92 teams over the course of their study.

First up in a long line of awards was the Sport92 Unsung Hero award. This went to third year student David Austin. Austin both coached and played for the Men’s football second XI, as well as being an outlet for player’s to talk to about their concerns.

Sports92 Unsung Hero Award – David Austin


Next up was Sports Coach of the Year award. The award went to Basketball coach Ingus Bankevics, having coached his sides to their best seasons yet, as well as integrating players into his squad who had no prior experience of the sport.

Sport92 Coach of the Year – Ingus Bankevics


Men’s first-team footballer Dre Taylor won the Sportsman of the Year award after another impressive season. Taylor was at the heartbeat of his sides’ success this year, earning himself a call-up to the England Universities Northern Squad.

Sport92 Sportsman of the Year – Dre Taylor


Chloe Howard took home the Sportswoman of the Year award after plying her trade for three different sides across the course of the year.

Sport92 Sportswoman of the Year – Chloe Howard


Attention then turned to the Sports Captains of the Year awards. Luke Heaton-Robertson and Lucy Cheyne winning the respective male and female awards.

Sport92 Sports Captain of the Year – Luke Heaton


Heaton-Robertson was a “great leader” for the Men’s Football first-team while also getting involved in a number of Character and Personal Development opportunities, while Cheyne was the heartbeat of her sides while also helping out at other sports clubs or social events.

Sports92 Sports Captain of the Year – Lucy Cheyne


Both Men’s and Women’s Basketball first teams were shortlisted for Most Improved Team of the Year. The women came out on top, as they went from winning two games last season to being the unbeaten league champions of this season.

Sport92 Most Improved Team of the Year – Women’s Basketball


The final award of the night went to the Men’s Football first-team who picked up the Team of the Year award. Reegan Russell’s side won their second consecutive promotion, winning the league title in style as well as reaching the semi-finals of their cup competition.

Sport92 Team of the Year – Men’s Football

Congratulations to all this year’s award winners and well done on all Sport92 teams for an amazing season.

Find out more about the Sports Team at UA92 on our Sport92 webpage.

Written by UA92 Sports Journalism student Billy Dobson.

Photography by UA92 Graduate Millie Waller.